Problem running demo System in virtualBox




Problem running demo System in virtualBox

Postby Jonatan » Fri 5. Sep 2014, 07:49

Hi ,
I have recently installed the system provided for the Track 1 of this Challenge, importing virtual machines into virtualBox from euroc_c2s1_20140818115515.ova file.

Once server is started i run client machine and i get this error (complete console output exported to CSV):

Code: Select all
message;severity;node;stamp;topics;location
"Starting the simulator failed failed: Traceback (most recent call last):
  File \"/opt/euroc_c2s1/bin/task_selector\", line 1350, in on_start_simulator
    no_start=(\"no_start\" in scene_desc[1:]),
  File \"/opt/euroc_c2s1/bin/task_selector\", line 429, in _start_simulator
    self._start_simulator_bh()
  File \"/opt/euroc_c2s1/bin/task_selector\", line 461, in _start_simulator_bh
    raise Exception(\"failed to start simulation server! please check console output!\")
Exception: failed to start simulation server! please check console output!
";"8";"/euroc_c2_demo_node";"1409766638.563000182";"/rosout";"/home/devel/euroc/gazebo/challenge2_sim/euroc_c2_plugin/ros/catkin_ws/src/euroc_c2_demos/src/euroc_c2_demo.cpp:main:118"



I have run both machines without as they com from the ova file, without modify anything.


Thanks!
Jonatan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri 5. Sep 2014, 07:36

by Advertising » Fri 5. Sep 2014, 07:49

Advertising
 

Re: Problem running demo System in virtualBox

Postby admin » Fri 5. Sep 2014, 09:53

Hi,

It seems that you are working on challenge 2. Moved the topic here.

Best,
Bernd
admin
Administrator
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri 27. Jun 2014, 12:22

Re: Problem running demo System in virtualBox

Postby Peter Lehner » Mon 8. Sep 2014, 08:08

Hello Jonatan,

Can you please check and add the output from the terminal in the 'simserv' virtual machine after you received this error from the simclient virtual machine?

Kind regards
- Peter
Peter Lehner
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri 27. Jun 2014, 14:33

Re: Problem running demo System in virtualBox

Postby Tobias Fromm » Mon 8. Sep 2014, 10:37

Hi guys,

we seem to have the same problem as Jonatan with server messages like follows:
Code: Select all
Error [BulletPhysics.cc:495]  debug physics:  iters[50] sor[1.3] erp[0.2] cfm[0] split[1] split tol[-0.02]
process 'simulator' at pid 2073 terminated!
simulator stopped while starting up!
already stopped
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/opt/euroc_c2s1/bin/task_selector", line 1351, in on_start_simulator
    no_start=("no_start" in scene_desc[1:]),
  File "/opt/euroc_c2s1/bin/task_selector", line 429, in _start_simulator
    self._start_simulator_bh()
  File "/opt/euroc_c2s1/bin/task_selector", line 461, in _start_simulator_bh
    raise Exception("failed to start simulation server! please check console output!")

I'm not sure whether the Bullet error is actually an error since it appears on a different machine as well where the simulator is basically working.

In general, this seems to be a Gazebo issue since gzclient crashes with
Code: Select all
Illegal instruction (core dumped)

if I manually try to start gzserver and gzclient. Maybe someone has had this issue before?

Cheers,
Tobi
Tobias Fromm
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 8. Sep 2014, 10:25

Re: Problem running demo System in virtualBox

Postby andrej.babinec » Mon 8. Sep 2014, 13:03

Hi,
I've got the same error message. I am using the native instalation on Ubuntu 12.04.
Here is the error message copyed from rqt_console:

Node: /euroc_c2_demo_node
Time: 10:41:19.158251247 (2014-09-08)
Severity: Error
Published Topics: /rosout

Starting the simulator failed failed: Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/opt/euroc_c2s1/bin/task_selector", line 1351, in on_start_simulator
no_start=("no_start" in scene_desc[1:]),
File "/opt/euroc_c2s1/bin/task_selector", line 429, in _start_simulator
self._start_simulator_bh()
File "/opt/euroc_c2s1/bin/task_selector", line 461, in _start_simulator_bh
raise Exception("failed to start simulation server! please check console output!")
Exception: failed to start simulation server! please check console output!


Location:
/home/devel/euroc/gazebo/challenge2_sim/euroc_c2_plugin/ros/catkin_ws/src/euroc_c2_demos/src/euroc_c2_demo.cpp:main:118

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And if I manually try to start gzserver and gzclient an empty Gazebo starts (no crashes here).

Thank for help.
Andrej
andrej.babinec
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon 8. Sep 2014, 12:32

Re: Problem running demo System in virtualBox

Postby Peter Lehner » Tue 9. Sep 2014, 12:55

Hi,

In order to get more debug information we need you to contact the support mailing list. We will provide scripts to test the gazebo server and client seperatly and generate core dumps if necessary.

Kind Regards
Peter Lehner
Peter Lehner
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri 27. Jun 2014, 14:33

Re: Problem running demo System in virtualBox

Postby Tobias Fromm » Tue 9. Sep 2014, 13:00

Actually, what we found out is that when the VirtualBox Guest Add-Ins are installed and Hardware Acceleration is enabled, Gazebo starts. It throws some warnings about OpenGL functions which don't work, but it doesn't crash and glxgears works as well in the VM.
But then there is the problem that gzclient's GL output is completely distorted, i.e. "snow", which indicates still some issues with the GL display routing through the VM. So it seems more a VM OpenGL-related issue than Gazebo or the demo system per se. Any ideas?
Tobias Fromm
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 8. Sep 2014, 10:25

Re: Problem running demo System in virtualBox

Postby Peter Lehner » Tue 9. Sep 2014, 13:48

As guest additions hardware 3D acceleration is an experimental feature in virtualbox it is hard to tell where the problem lies.
One thing worth trying might be to enforce software rendering of LibGL as mentioned here http://www.mesa3d.org/envvars.html.
To do this execute
Code: Select all
$ export LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1

before running gazebo server.
Peter Lehner
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri 27. Jun 2014, 14:33

Re: Problem running demo System in virtualBox

Postby Peter Lehner » Tue 9. Sep 2014, 14:18

Additionally here is the OpenGL version information of our working simguest VM from
Code: Select all
glxinfo | grep OpenGL
:
Code: Select all
OpenGL vendor string: VMware, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.3, 128 bits)
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 9.2.1
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
Peter Lehner
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri 27. Jun 2014, 14:33

Re: Problem running demo System in virtualBox

Postby Tobias Fromm » Tue 9. Sep 2014, 14:35

Weird, our simguest VMs (both for client and server) give
Code: Select all
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.3, 256 bits)

instead of 128 bits.
This seems to cause the problem since on a different machine we have 128 bits, there OpenGL works as expected. Do you have any idea how this may be caused?

Edit: export LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 didn't help.
Tobias Fromm
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 8. Sep 2014, 10:25

Next


Similar topics


TAGS

Return to Stage 1 - Simulation

Who is online

No registered users

cron